SEA-PHAGES Logo

The official website of the HHMI Science Education Alliance-Phage Hunters Advancing Genomics and Evolutionary Science program.

Abstracts for the 2021 SEA Faculty Meeting
Faculty-Presented Abstracts
InstitutionFaculty ContactTitleLast ModifiedFiles
College of St. Scholastica Daniel Westholm
dwesthol@css.edu
Arrowsmith in the classroom: using the Pulitzer Prize winning novel to explore phage therapy and pandemic clinical trials May 20, 2021
12:42 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Illinois Wesleyan University Dave Bollivar
dbolliva@iwu.edu
Genomic diversity of bacteriophages infecting Rhodobacter capsulatus and their relatedness to its gene transfer agent RcGTA May 18, 2021
1:31 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Illinois Wesleyan University Rick Alvey
ralvey@iwu.edu
Rhodobacter capsulatus bacteriophage Xuper isolated from a freshwater source readily adapts to an alternative marine host May 19, 2021
11:39 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
La Salle University Sean McClory
mcclory@lasalle.edu
A QUBES Resource for Introducing PHAGES Students to Primary Literature May 19, 2021
10:55 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Lehigh University Vassie Ware
vcw0@lehigh.edu
NeW opportunities for undergraduate research: Integrating SEA-PHAGES and SEA-GENES research for novel insights into gene functions in cluster N and cluster W mycobacteriophages May 19, 2021
5:05 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Neumann University Matthew Mastropaolo
mastropm@neumann.edu
Reflective Writing Tools: Building Skills and Habits of Thinking in Becoming a Scientist May 19, 2021
6:04 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Queensborough Community College Urszula Golebiewska
ugolebiewska@qcc.cuny.edu
Teaching Bioinformatics Online vs In Person May 19, 2021
11:45 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
State University of New York-Plattsburgh Alyssa Gleichsner
aglei002@plattsburgh.edu
Teaching Students to Annotate Programmed Translational Frameshifts: A QUBES Pedagogical Resource for SEA-PHAGES Faculty May 16, 2021
10 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
The Ohio State University Amy Kulesza
kulesza.5@osu.edu
Recitation Activities Support Better Understanding of Data Analysis in SEA-PHAGES CURE May 14, 2021
2:48 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Colorado at Boulder Christy Fillman
christy.fillman@Colorado.EDU
Phage Phandemic: How our Students Survived and Succeeded in the Hybrid Phage Lab May 19, 2021
6:52 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Connecticut Simon White
simon.white@uconn.edu
Novel capsid proteins identified in the actinobacteriophages using cryo-electron microscopy May 14, 2021
12:53 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Hawaii at Manoa Becky Chong
rachong@hawaii.edu
‘Choose your own research adventure’: expanding pedagogical approaches to SEA-PHAGES bioinformatics May 19, 2021
7:40 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Nevada Las Vegas Philippos Tsourkas
philippos.tsourkas@unlv.edu
Phage Commander, an app for rapid phage genome annotation using multiple programs May 14, 2021
6:18 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Pittsburgh Beckie Bortz
rlb6@pitt.edu
Teaching Gene Prediction Programs May 17, 2021
6:15 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Pittsburgh Kristen Butela
kab340@pitt.edu
A Hybrid Approach to Teaching the SEA-PHAGES Phage Discovery Lab Course May 18, 2021
3:07 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Pittsburgh Kristen Butela
kab340@pitt.edu
QUBES Resource: Generating High-Quality Genome Annotations May 20, 2021
9:52 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of South Florida Richard Pollenz
pollenz@usf.edu
Writing Microbiology Resource Announcements (Genome Announcements) Collaboratively: A QUBES Pedagogical Resource for SEA-PHAGES Faculty May 19, 2021
3:33 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of South Florida Richard Pollenz
pollenz@usf.edu
The Phage Throw Down! A Fun and Creative Way to Build Sense of Belonging and Community with Your PHAGES Cohort May 12, 2021
10:22 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of the Sciences in Philadelphia Chantal Koechli
ckoechli@usciences.edu
Deconstructing a Primary Literature Article to Introduce Phage Biology and Annotation May 17, 2021
3:01 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of West Florida Hui-Min Chung
hchung@uwf.edu
Adopting a Phage-Hunting Course to Enrich Undergraduate Research Experience in Taiwan May 19, 2021
7:19 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Wisconsin-River Falls Karen Klyczek
karen.k.klyczek@uwrf.edu
Exploring Phage Immunity Systems with Activities to Learn Fundamental Concepts and to Read a Scientific Paper: QUBES Pedagogical Resources for SEA-PHAGES Faculty May 19, 2021
9:25 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Virginia State University Andrea Beyer
abeyer@vsu.edu
Faculty Resources for Teaching and Annotating Common Phage Protein Functions May 19, 2021
10:34 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Western Kentucky University Rodney King
rodney.king@wku.edu
The first SEA-GENES experience at Western Kentucky University May 26, 2021
12:30 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc