SEA-PHAGES Logo

The official website of the HHMI Science Education Alliance-Phage Hunters Advancing Genomics and Evolutionary Science program.

Abstracts for the 8th Annual SEA-PHAGES Symposium
Student-Presented Abstracts, Consider For Talks
InstitutionFaculty ContactTitleLast ModifiedFiles
Albion College Ken Saville
ksaville@albion.edu
Here to be Phamous: Discovery and Analysis of Briton15 and Timmi May 9, 2016
9:02 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Albion College Brad Cavinder
bcavinder@albion.edu
Isolation, Characterization and Genome Annotation of Two Siphoviridae Group B Cluster Members from the Albion College Campus Apr 5, 2017
5:05 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Baylor University Tammy Adair
tamarah_adair@baylor.edu
Diversity Dilemma: The Art of Maximizing Arthrobacteriophage Cluster Diversity May 9, 2016
5:59 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Brigham Young University Sandra Hope
sandrahope2016@gmail.com
Paenibacillus Larvae Phages Contain Regions of Conserved Synteny Despite Large Genomic Differences May 9, 2016
3:02 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Brown University Yang Zhou
yang_zhou@brown.edu
Characterization of a Novel Mycobacteriophage JuicyJay and Slippery Sequences in its Genome Jun 4, 2016
2:31 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Bucknell University Greg Krukonis
gregkrukonis@gmail.com
The Arthrobacter phages of Bucknell University May 9, 2016
11:53 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Cabrini University David Dunbar
ddunbar@cabrini.edu
An optimized enrichment protocol for the isolation of Arthrobacterbacteriophages from soil sample isolates May 8, 2016
10:10 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Calvin College John Wertz
jwertz59@calvin.edu
Squashed and Soiled: Gordonia phage Cucurbita and continued discovery of enterobacteriophage novelty May 9, 2016
4:06 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Carnegie Mellon University Swarna Mohan
swmohan@UCSD.EDU
New Rhodococcus and Arthrobacter phages: annotation, lysogens, regulatory elements and unusual sequence coverage behavior within cluster AT. May 9, 2016
12:07 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Carthage College Deb Tobiason
dtobiason@carthage.edu
Investigation and Annotation of Cluster B1 Mycobacteriophages: SassyCat97, Surely, and TomBombadil May 9, 2016
11:59 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
College of Charleston Chris Korey
koreyc@cofc.edu
DirtyDunning: The Complete Genome Sequence of a New Subcluster A4 Phage Apr 28, 2016
10:59 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
College of St. Scholastica Daniel Westholm
dwesthol@css.edu
Evidence for revision of predicted genome annotation using tandem mass spectrometry May 16, 2016
3:09 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
College of William & Mary Margaret Saha
mssaha@wm.edu
The Quest for Novelty: A Tale of Four Hosts May 8, 2016
10:13 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Culver-Stockton College Esa Seegulam
mseegulam@culver.edu
Identification and Characterization of the Mycobacteriophage Baby16 May 12, 2016
12:20 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Del Mar College Deborah Overath
deborah.overath@tsc.edu
Isolation and Characterization of the Novel Actinobacteriophage ‘Draco’ and Annotation of the Actinobacteriophage ‘Oogway’ May 18, 2016
3:14 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Del Mar College Deborah Overath
deborah.overath@tsc.edu
Investigating Unique Genomic Features of Rare Cluster M Mycobacteriophages in the Novel Phage ‘Nanosmite’ May 18, 2016
3:22 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Doane University Erin Doyle
erin.doyle@doane.edu
Isolation and genome annotation of mycobacteriophage Jabith, a cluster A11 phage which increases biofilm growth of Mycobacterium smegmatis May 9, 2016
1:07 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Drexel University Joy Little
joy.l.little@drexel.edu
Genomic and Biological Characterization of Mycobacteriophages Geralt and Phrodobaggins May 9, 2016
3:13 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Durham Technical Community College Marie Fogarty
fogartym@durhamtech.edu
First in Phlight: Characterization of Two Novel Phages, Iridoclysis and Nidhogg, Isolated in North Carolina May 9, 2016
5:01 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Florida Gulf Coast University Sharon Isern
sisern@fgcu.edu
Bioinformatic Characterization of Y Cluster Mycobacteriophage Bipper May 9, 2016
5:34 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Florida International University Mauricio Rodriguez-Lanetty
rodriguezlanetty@gmail.com
Bias on gene strand location mirrors Mycobacteriophages genetic clusters May 10, 2016
10:46 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Gonzaga University Kirk Anders
anders@gonzaga.edu
Investigating promoters in O cluster phages May 10, 2016
12:03 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Hope College Joseph Stukey
stukey@hope.edu
Mycobacteriophages Krueger (K6) and Phrappuccino (Singleton) Harbor Unique Examples of Mosaic Architecture Linking Actinobacteriophages from Different Hosts May 10, 2016
12:16 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Viknesh Sivanathan
sivanathanv@hhmi.org
Factors Influencing Arthrobacter sp. growth and Arthrobacteriophage Isolation and Characterization May 10, 2016
1:25 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Howard University Courtney Robinson
courtney.robinson@howard.edu
Isolation and Identification of Brevibacillus brevis Bacteriophages at Howard University May 9, 2016
4:45 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Illinois Wesleyan University Rick Alvey
ralvey@iwu.edu
The Isolation and Genomic Analysis of Mycobacterium smegmatis and Rhodobacter capsulatus bacteriophages May 9, 2016
3:32 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Indian River State College Helen Koch
hkoch@irsc.edu
Mycobacteriophage in Southeast Florida: Genomic characterization of five new phage and comparative analysis of an expanding repository of isolates. May 9, 2016
4:47 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
James Madison University Steve Cresawn
cresawsg@jmu.edu
Genomic Analysis of DRBy19, a Subcluster F1 Mycobacteriophage May 9, 2016
8:22 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
James Madison University Louise Temple
templelm@jmu.edu
Temperate or Virulent? The Search for Lysogens of Cousin Phages, Belinda and Smudge, Newly Discovered from Two Continents Jun 2, 2016
7:47 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Johns Hopkins University Emily Fisher
efisher@jhu.edu
Analysis of the differences between Valjean and Zaider, two mycobacteriophages with 98.7% identity May 9, 2016
10:04 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Kansas State University Christopher Herren
cdherren@ksu.edu
Flint Hills Phages - Genetic Characterization of A2 subcluster Phage DBQu4n, Comparisons and Contrasts to Phages D29 and L5 May 9, 2016
3:41 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
La Salle University Nancy Jones
jones@lasalle.edu
Mycobacteriophages LouisV14 and RitaG May 25, 2016
8:08 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Lafayette College Eric Ho
hoe@lafayette.edu
Identifying Novel Characteristics of Methyltransferase and Hydrolase Structures in Phage Tinybot Genome May 9, 2016
2:04 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Lehigh University Vassie Ware
vcw0@lehigh.edu
Bioinformatics discoveries brought to life: uncovering mycobacteriophage gene functions May 9, 2016
10:48 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
LeTourneau University Greg Frederick
GregFrederick@letu.edu
Genomic and Evolutionary Analysis of Two Diverse Mycobacteriophages and Methodological Analysis of Chronological Variation in Genomic Annotation May 9, 2016
8:04 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Lincoln University David Royer
royer@lincoln.edu
Jordennis, a newly annotated A6 subcluster bacteriophage May 9, 2016
4:08 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Massey University Heather Hendrickson
h.hendrickson@massey.ac.nz
From Soil to Sequencing: The isolation and characterisation of novel New Zealand Mycobacterium smegmatis bacteriophages May 9, 2016
4:56 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Merrimack College Janine LeBlanc-Straceski
janine.leblancstraceski@merrimack.edu
Lokk and BobSwaget: Two Highly Similar Genomes Diverging in the Region Upstream of the parABS Casette May 10, 2016
12:06 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Miami University Mitchell Balish
balishmf@miamioh.edu
From High St. to Bishop Woods: the "Lives" of two phages May 10, 2016
4:01 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Montana Tech of the University of Montana Marisa Pedulla
mpedulla@mtech.edu
Genome Analysis of Mycobacteriophage Nimrod May 9, 2016
7:26 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Montana Tech of the University of Montana Marisa Pedulla
mpedulla@mtech.edu
Analysis of Mycobacteriophage DillTech15 May 9, 2016
7:27 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Montclair State University Sandra Adams
adamssa@mail.montclair.edu
Isolation and Characterization of LifeSavor and Abidatro May 7, 2016
11:58 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Morehouse College Larry Blumer
lblumer@morehouse.edu
The discovery and annotation of four new mycobacteriophages May 9, 2016
9:41 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Nebraska Wesleyan University Angela McKinney
amckinne@nebrwesleyan.edu
Isolation and Analysis of Mycobacteriophage JackSparrow and Bacteriophages Zeta1847, BonaeVitae, and Metamorphoo Jun 2, 2016
12:17 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
North Carolina A&T State University Roy Coomans
coomansr@ncat.edu
Isolation and Characterization of Mazhar510, Roosevelt and Royals2015 May 16, 2016
11:33 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
North Carolina State University Eric Miller
eric_miller@ncsu.edu
Paenibacillus larvae phage Mock2 from a diseased North Carolina honey bee hive: Comparative genomics and host range May 9, 2016
5:30 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Nyack College Jackie Washington
jacqueline.washington@nyack.edu
Characterization of Saguaro, Founding Member of the New B7 Subcluster May 10, 2016
12:01 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Old Dominion University Nazir Barekzi
nbarekzi@odu.edu
The discovery and annotation of mycobacteriophages HedwigODU and Goldilocks May 9, 2016
2:48 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Ouachita Baptist University Ruth Plymale
plymaler@obu.edu
Getting Lucky: Using Proteomic Analysis and Creating CS-Beacon to Describe the Fortunato Genome May 9, 2016
11:59 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Purdue University Kari Clase
kclase@purdue.edu
Integration of genome sequencing and mass spectrometry to develop a pipeline for characterization of the phage bacteria system May 10, 2016
9:17 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Queensborough Community College Urszula Golebiewska
ugolebiewska@qcc.cuny.edu
Genomic Analysis of Mycobacteriophage Tonenili May 9, 2016
7:59 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Saint Joseph's University Julia Lee-Soety
jlee04@sju.edu
Metagenomic analysis of Arthrobacter-specific bacteriophages in the AN cluster May 9, 2016
3:34 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Seton Hill University Kristen Butela
kab340@pitt.edu
Genomic Diversity within Cluster M2 Mycobacteriophages GardenSalsa and GenevaB15 May 9, 2016
8:21 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Southern Connecticut State University Nicholas Edgington
edgingtonn1@southernct.edu
Starts and Stops: Identification of conserved sequences in subcluster A11 and cluster K mycobacteriophages associated with gene expression. May 9, 2016
4:08 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Southern Maine Community College Brian Tarbox
btarbox@smccme.edu
SEA-PHAGES and the sea at SMCC May 9, 2016
11:19 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
St. Edward's University Michael Kart
michaelkart@stedwards.edu
Synthetic Genome Builder May 10, 2016
10:17 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
The Ohio State University Caroline Breitenberger
breitenberger.1@osu.edu
Sojourns in the F Cluster May 9, 2016
5:44 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Truckee Meadows Community College Tina Slowan-Pomeroy
TinaBina@me.com
Isolation, Purification, and Characterization of Bacteriophage Cookies May 10, 2016
12:52 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Alabama at Birmingham Denise Monti
dmonti@uab.edu
Using Structural Genomics to Determine Putative Functions for Novel Gene Products of Corynebacterium phage, C3PO May 9, 2016
11:35 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of California, Los Angeles Jordan Parker
jparker@microbio.ucla.edu
Novel Propionibacterium acnes Phage Leviosa Demonstrates Broad Infectivity May 2, 2016
5:59 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Colorado at Boulder Nancy Guild
nancy.guild@colorado.edu
Genomic Analysis of Mycobacteriophage Tortellini Reveals Significant Genetic Differences from Current P Cluster Phages, Establishing this Phage as the First Member of the P2 Subcluster May 9, 2016
3 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Detroit Mercy Jacob Kagey
kageyja@udmercy.edu
Isolation and characterization of the A3 bacteriophage Kady from the host Mycobacterium smegmatis May 9, 2016
9:15 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Florida Brad Barbazuk
bbarbazuk@ufl.edu
Annotation of Mycobacteriophage Louie6 – a new member of cluster A3 May 9, 2016
3:34 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Houston-Downtown Sanghamitra Saha
sahas@uhd.edu
Isolation and Annotation of Mycobacteriophages belonging to A, K and N Clusters May 9, 2016
7:59 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Kansas Rob Ward
robward@ku.edu
Isolation and characterization, including host range, immunity, excision and potential splicing in the lysogenic J-cluster mycobacteriophage HokkenD May 5, 2016
2:23 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Louisiana at Monroe Ann Findley
afindley@ulm.edu
Comparative Analysis of Seven Rhodococcus erythropolis CA Cluster Phages (Angry Orchard, Bobby Dazzler, Dinger, Harlequin, Jester, Partridge, and Yogi) and a Single CB Cluster Phage (Measels) May 9, 2016
1:15 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Maine, Honors College Sally Molloy
sally.dixon@maine.edu
Alternative host range and immunity in mycobacteriophage Clusters A and E May 9, 2016
8:15 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Maine, Machias Gerry Zegers
gzegers@maine.edu
Comparison of Cluster S Phages May 18, 2016
10:19 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Mary Washington Lynn Lewis
llewis@umw.edu
Phage Hunting at University of Mary Washington May 9, 2016
2:51 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Mary Washington Lynn Lewis
llewis@umw.edu
xxx Jun 1, 2016
10:01 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Maryland, Baltimore County Steve Caruso
scaruso@umbc.edu
Two Pacific Bacteriophages Isolated and Characterized May 9, 2016
5:25 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of North Texas Lee Hughes
lhughes@unt.edu
Comparative Analysis of the Expanding Streptomyces BC Cluster May 8, 2016
12:27 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Pittsburgh Marcie Warner
mwarner1@pitt.edu
Isolation and analysis of Gordonia terrae phages reveals novel aspects of lysis, virion morphology, and host range May 10, 2016
11:10 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Puerto Rico at Cayey Michael Rubin
michael.rubin@upr.edu
Morphologic and Genomic Characterization of Mycobacteriophages Isolated from Tropical Soils of Puerto Rico May 9, 2016
4:22 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Southern Mississippi Dmitri Mavrodi
dmitri.mavrodi@usm.edu
Genome sequence of mycobacteriophage Hammy May 20, 2016
11:43 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Texas at El Paso Germán Rosas-Acosta
grosas3@utep.edu
Novel insight into the relationship between genomic sequence and bacteriophage morphology May 9, 2016
4:21 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of the Sciences in Philadelphia C. Nicole Sunnen
c.sunnen@usciences.edu
Our Phage Phriends: Isolation & Characterization of Audrick & Porcelain May 9, 2016
11:24 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of West Florida Hui-Min Chung
hchung@uwf.edu
Who Ya Gonna Call? Phage Hunters! May 8, 2016
12:39 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Wisconsin-River Falls Karen Klyczek
karen.k.klyczek@uwrf.edu
Hits from Host to Host: Isolation, Characterization, and Comparative Genomics of Five New Gordonia phages May 10, 2016
1:01 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Virginia Commonwealth University Allison Johnson
aajohnson@vcu.edu
Functional Genomics of Bacillus Phages May 9, 2016
9:10 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Virginia Tech Stephanie Voshell
svoshell@vt.edu
Genomic characterization of three novel mycobacteriophages: Florean, Kingsley, and Watson May 7, 2016
4:19 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Washington State University Bill Davis
wbdavis@wsu.edu
Bioinformatics Analysis of Mycobacterial R Cluster Phages May 9, 2016
9 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Washington University in St. Louis Kathleen Weston-Hafer
hafer@wustl.edu
Comparative Analysis of Six Novel Streptomyces Phage: A New Host Contributes to an Increase in the Diversity and Novelty of Phage Proteins May 9, 2016
5:57 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Western Carolina University Maria Gainey
mdgainey@email.wcu.edu
Preliminary Cluster Typing of 20 Novel Bacteriophages Discovered at Western Carolina University May 10, 2016
12:19 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Western Kentucky University Claire Rinehart
claire.rinehart@wku.edu
Features for Eight Mycobacteriophage Genomes: AlleyCat (K5), Baehexic (A2), Flare16 (A2), Gruunaga (A6), Jeckyll (K1), LilTurb (A2), Mutante (B1), and NearlyHeadless (A8). May 9, 2016
6:53 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Worcester Polytechnic Institute JoAnn Whitefleet-Smith
jaws@wpi.edu
A tale of Three Phages from the WPI Phamily May 9, 2016
12:53 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Student-Presented Abstracts, DO NOT Consider For Talks
InstitutionFaculty ContactTitleLast ModifiedFiles
Xavier University of Louisiana Joe Ross
jross@xula.edu
Phaging on the River: Further Adventures in South Louisiana Phage Biology May 10, 2016
12:44 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Faculty-Presented Abstracts
InstitutionFaculty ContactTitleLast ModifiedFiles
College of William & Mary Margaret Saha
mssaha@wm.edu
Transcriptional Analysis of Phage Infection Dynamics Using RNA-Seq May 17, 2016
12:05 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of North Texas Lee Hughes
lhughes@unt.edu
Alternative Staining for Electron Microscopy with Ytterbium Acetate May 8, 2016
12:33 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Pittsburgh Welkin Pope
welkin@pitt.edu
Curiosities and oddities in Gordonia phage genomes May 24, 2016
10:07 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Wisconsin-River Falls Karen Klyczek
karen.k.klyczek@uwrf.edu
Expanding the Actinobacteriophage Community: Comparative Genomics of Phages Isolated in an Arthrobacter Host Jun 1, 2016
2:33 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Washington State University Bill Davis
wbdavis@wsu.edu
Is a CURE a CURE? Comparing Student Educational and Motivational Outcomes in SEA-PHAGES and Alternative CUREs May 9, 2016
9:05 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Washington University in St. Louis Chris Shaffer
shaffer@wustl.edu
Investigations into the Kibler SD scoring algorithm May 17, 2016
3:40 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Western Kentucky University Claire Rinehart
claire.rinehart@wku.edu
PECAAN, a Phage Evidence Collection And Annotation Network May 9, 2016
3:02 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
TA-Presented Abstracts
InstitutionFaculty ContactTitleLast ModifiedFiles
University of Maine, Fort Kent Peter Nelson
peter.nelson@maine.edu
New graphical perspectives on genomic mosaicism using multivariate analysis of Cluster A May 19, 2016
2:32 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc