SEA-PHAGES Logo

The official website of the HHMI Science Education Alliance-Phage Hunters Advancing Genomics and Evolutionary Science program.

Abstracts for the 7th Annual SEA-PHAGES Symposium
Student-Presented Abstracts, Consider For Talks
InstitutionFaculty ContactTitleLast ModifiedFiles
Baylor University Tammy Adair
tamarah_adair@baylor.edu
Comparative Genomics of Arthrobacteriophages Apr 22, 2015
8:16 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Brigham Young University Julianne Grose
julianne_grose@byu.edu
Isolation and Characterization of Paenibacillus larvae and Brevibacillus laterosporus Bacteriophages to Understand Their Evolutionary Relationships Apr 24, 2015
11:55 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Brown University Sarah Taylor
sarah_taylor@brown.edu
Characterization of Palindrome Usage in Mycobacteriophage Genomes May 1, 2015
11:01 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Bucknell University Marie Pizzorno
pizzorno@bucknell.edu
Analysis of Additional Arthrobacter Phage with Small Genomes (Cluster D) and the Singleton Kitkat May 1, 2015
11:02 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Cabrini University David Dunbar
ddunbar@cabrini.edu
An optimized enrichment technique for the isolation of Arthrobacter bacteriophage species from soil sample isolates. Apr 21, 2015
3:18 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Calvin College Randy DeJong
rdejong@calvin.edu
An Enterobacteriophage Extravaganza: New Clusters of Enterobacteriophages Containing Fourteen Novel Isolates from Soil, Termite Guts and Snail Guts Apr 22, 2015
10:47 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Carnegie Mellon University Javier Lopez
jlaa@andrew.cmu.edu
Expanding our Knowledge of Arthrobacter and Rhodococcus Phage Diversity Apr 22, 2015
11:54 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Carthage College Deb Tobiason
dtobiason@carthage.edu
Bartholomew by Land and Cobra by Sea: Mycobacteriophages from Clusters B1 and P Apr 20, 2015
4:59 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
College of Charleston Chris Korey
koreyc@cofc.edu
Mycobacteriophage Pipsqueaks: The Complete Genome Annotation of a New Cluster N Phage Apr 21, 2015
9:35 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
College of Idaho Luke Daniels
ldaniels@collegeofidaho.edu
JetBlade: A novel mycobacteriophage isolated in Southwest Idaho Apr 24, 2015
12:53 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
College of St. Scholastica Daniel Westholm
dwesthol@css.edu
Proteomic and Genomic Analysis of Novel Cluster A, B and P Mycobacteriophages May 1, 2015
11:02 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
College of William & Mary Margaret Saha
mssaha@wm.edu
From Compost to Clusters: Rhodococcus Phages from Coastal Virginia May 1, 2015
11:02 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Culver-Stockton College Esa Seegulam
mseegulam@culver.edu
Identification and Genomic Investigation of the Mycobacteriophage SamScheppers Apr 17, 2015
7:29 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Del Mar College J. Robert Hatherill
jhatherill@delmar.edu
Exploration of Genetic Factors Involved in Bacteriophage Temperate Life Cycle by Isolation and Annotation of the Novel Mycobacteriophage ‘Chupacabra’ Apr 21, 2015
2:32 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Florida Gulf Coast University Sharon Isern
sisern@fgcu.edu
A Comparative Bioinformatic Analysis of Four Novel Rhodococcus Bacteriophage May 1, 2015
11:02 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Florida International University Mauricio Rodriguez-Lanetty
rodriguezlanetty@gmail.com
Evolutionary and Syntenic Comparison of Tail Proteins in Roary to Other A8 Phages Apr 27, 2015
10:55 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Gettysburg College Veronique Delesalle
delesall@gettysburg.edu
Phamished and the Cluster B Phages Apr 21, 2015
8:58 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Gonzaga University Marianne Poxleitner
poxleitner@gonzaga.edu
Investigating Cluster O promoters at Gonzaga University Apr 21, 2015
8:38 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Hampden-Sydney College Mike Wolyniak
mwolyniak@hsc.edu
Archie14, a Bacillus thuringiensis bacteriophage with evidence of passage through multiple bacterial hosts Apr 20, 2015
11:49 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Hope College Aaron Best
best@hope.edu
Lysis Cassette Mosaicism and Potential Expanded Host Range Evident in the Genomes of Glass and Bella96 May 1, 2015
11:02 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Howard University Courtney Robinson
courtney.robinson@howard.edu
Exploring the Diversity of Mycobacteriophages Isolated from Soil at Howard University Apr 24, 2015
2:24 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Illinois Wesleyan University Rick Alvey
ralvey@iwu.edu
Isolation and Characterization of two subcluster A Mycobacteriophages from Central Illinois Apr 21, 2015
4:44 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Indian River State College Adrienne Cottrell-Yongye
ayongye@irsc.edu
Isolation of 11 mycobacteriophages from Florida ecosystems and genomic characterization of mycobacteriophages Lumos, Pioneer, and SnapTap Apr 21, 2015
5:39 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
James Madison University Steve Cresawn
cresawsg@jmu.edu
Bioinformatic and Virological Evidence Suggests a Novel Scheme for Lysogeny in a Mycobacteriophage May 1, 2015
11:03 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
James Madison University Louise Temple
templelm@jmu.edu
Matchsticks, Spaghettis, and Podos, Oh MY! Apr 21, 2015
11:27 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Johns Hopkins University Emily Fisher
efisher@jhu.edu
Cluster C Mycobacteriophages at Johns Hopkins: ChickenPhender and Melpomini Apr 21, 2015
10:01 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
La Salle University Nancy Jones
jones@lasalle.edu
Isolation, Identification, and Genomic Analyses of Mycobacteriophages Iracema64 and Lambert1 Apr 26, 2015
11:25 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Lehigh University Vassie Ware
vcw0@lehigh.edu
Bioinformatics Discoveries: Investigating Mycobacteriophage Genomic Relationships and Immunity Mechanisms Apr 21, 2015
11:53 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Lincoln University Anna Hull
ahull@lincoln.edu
Finding Panchino - a novel N-cluster Mycobacterium phage isolated at Lincoln University, Pennsylvania May 1, 2015
11:03 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Merrimack College Charlotte Berkes
berkesc@merrimack.edu
Don't Mess with Texage Apr 21, 2015
10:24 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Miami University Gary Janssen
janssegr@muohio.edu
Isolation and analysis of DumpstDiver, a cluster J mycobacteriophage from Southwest Ohio Apr 24, 2015
9:27 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Montana Tech of the University of Montana Marisa Pedulla
mpedulla@mtech.edu
Identification and Characterization of Mycobacteriophage OwlsT2W Apr 17, 2015
12:08 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Montclair State University Sandra Adams
adamssa@mail.montclair.edu
Isolation, Characterization, and Comparison of Malinsilva and LugYa Apr 22, 2015
10:38 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Morehouse College Larry Blumer
lblumer@morehouse.edu
The discovery and annotation of mycobacteriophages BigPhil and Sotrice96 May 1, 2015
11:03 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Nebraska Wesleyan University Jerry Bricker
jbricker@nebrwesleyan.edu
Mycobacteriophages "Dreamcatcher" and "Legolas", two Siphoviridae collected in Lincoln, Nebraska. Apr 24, 2015
1:42 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
North Carolina A&T State University Rob Newman
rhnewman@ncat.edu
Isolation and Annotation of “Bactobuster”, a Novel A2 Mycobacteriophage Apr 22, 2015
midnight
Summary
Word Doc
North Carolina State University Eric Miller
eric_miller@ncsu.edu
A Predicted Uncommon -2 Programmed Translational Frameshift in a Paenibacillus larvae Phage Transposase Gene Apr 21, 2015
11:02 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Nyack College Peter Park
peter.park@nyack.edu
Characterization of the Temperature-Sensitive K2 Mycobacteriophage Findley Apr 21, 2015
10:47 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Old Dominion University Nazir Barekzi
nbarekzi@odu.edu
Isolating and Characterizing Different Mycobacteriophages at Old Dominion University Apr 21, 2015
11:57 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Ouachita Baptist University Nathan Reyna
reynan@obu.edu
Genomic Analysis of Cluster T Mycobacteriophage May 1, 2015
11:04 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Purdue University Kari Clase
kclase@purdue.edu
Isolation, Characterization and Analysis of EricMillard, a Novel Cluster J Mycobacteriophage and WaterDiva, a Novel Cluster B1 Mycobacteriophage Apr 21, 2015
8:27 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Queensborough Community College Urszula Golebiewska
ugolebiewska@qcc.cuny.edu
Genomic Analysis of Mycobacteriophage Smeadley Apr 21, 2015
2:16 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Saint Joseph's University Julia Lee-Soety
jlee04@sju.edu
Discovering novel Arthrobacter phages Apr 21, 2015
1:13 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Seton Hill University Kristen Butela
kbutela@setonhill.edu
Isolation and genomic characterization of Mycobacteriophages Wilbur and Romney2012 May 1, 2015
11:04 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Southern Connecticut State University Nicholas Edgington
edgingtonn1@southernct.edu
Genomic analysis of four mycobacteriophages from Southern Connecticut: Two A3’s, EpicPhail & Veracruz, and two new N cluster phages, Xeno and Phrann. May 1, 2015
11:05 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Southern Maine Community College Brian Tarbox
btarbox@smccme.edu
Mariner: A novel marine phage which may affect marine biofilms Apr 17, 2015
4:06 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
St. Edward's University Charles Hauser
charlesh@stedwards.edu
Functional clustering of Mycobacteriophage proteins using phylogenetic profiles Apr 25, 2015
8:42 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
The Evergreen State College Jim Neitzel
neitzelj@evergreen.edu
The Same and Yet Different: Two New Mycobacteriophages from Olympia, Washington Apr 21, 2015
8:07 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
The Ohio State University Sarah Ball
ball.1766@osu.edu
Four years of mycobacteriophage isolation at Ohio State May 1, 2015
11:04 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Trinity College Lisa-Anne Foster
lisaanne.foster@trincoll.edu
An Evolutionary History of A4 Cluster Phage, Skipitt, and the Study of its Infection Potential Apr 24, 2015
6:07 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Truckee Meadows Community College Laura Briggs
lbriggs@tmcc.edu
Isolation and Characterization of Bacteriophage Appletree2, A Cluster L, Subcluster L1, Siphoviridae Apr 21, 2015
11:51 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Alabama at Birmingham Denise Monti
dmonti@uab.edu
Genomic Characterization of 3 Novel Phage Infecting Acinetobacter Apr 21, 2015
11:49 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of California, San Diego Mandy Butler
mabutler@ucsd.edu
Genomic and proteomic analysis of Mycobacteriophage Kersh, an F1 cluster phage Apr 24, 2015
1:58 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Colorado at Boulder Christy Fillman
christy.fillman@Colorado.EDU
Comparing Codon Usage and tRNAs Present in a C1 Phage, Sprinklers, and a A6 Phage, ToneTone Apr 21, 2015
3:59 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Florida Brad Barbazuk
bbarbazuk@ufl.edu
The annotation of 3 new Mycobacteriophages: ArcherNM, Petra64142 and Wooldri. Apr 21, 2015
5:05 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Houston-Downtown Rachna Sadana
sadanar@uhd.edu
Isolation and Characterization of A, B, C and K Cluster Mycobacetriophages Apr 21, 2015
10:33 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Kansas Rob Ward
robward@ku.edu
Characterization of Potter and Polka14, two mycobacteriophages isolated from soil samples in Lawrence, Kansas Apr 18, 2015
2:20 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Louisiana at Monroe Ann Findley
afindley@ulm.edu
Annotation of Rhodococcus erythropolis Phage Singletons Trina and Chewy VIII May 1, 2015
11:06 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Maine, Fort Kent Peter Nelson
peter.nelson@maine.edu
Annotation of PeterPeter, a Cluster A Phage Apr 24, 2015
1:11 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Maine, Honors College Sally Molloy
sally.dixon@maine.edu
Going to the Gap for more than genes Apr 21, 2015
8:06 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Maine, Machias Shallee Page
pages@franklinpierce.edu
Isolation and Characterization of Mycobacteriophage Zenon Apr 21, 2015
9:06 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Mary Washington Lynn Lewis
llewis@umw.edu
Characterization of the Bacillus thuringiensis subsp. Kurstaki Bacteriophage Channel Fever. Apr 21, 2015
9:19 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Maryland, Baltimore County Steve Caruso
scaruso@umbc.edu
TsarBomba, a multi-host sub-cluster forms deep inside Saratov, Russia May 1, 2015
11:05 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of North Texas Lee Hughes
lhughes@unt.edu
Isolation and Characterization of Streptomyces bacteriophage Chymera, OlympicHelado, Verse, and Amela Apr 21, 2015
11:35 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of North Texas Lee Hughes
lhughes@unt.edu
Isolation and Annotation of a group of similar Streptomyces phages: Excalibur, Danzina, Hydra, Izzy and Lannister. Apr 21, 2015
11:48 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Pittsburgh Welkin Pope
welkin@pitt.edu
Gee Whiz: Emerging diversity of the Cluster G mycobacteriophages May 1, 2015
11:04 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Puerto Rico at Cayey Michael Rubin
michael.rubin@upr.edu
Morphologic, Genomic, and Proteomic Characterization of Mycobacteriophage InterFolia Isolated from Tropical Soil of Puerto Rico Apr 21, 2015
8:42 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Texas at El Paso Germán Rosas-Acosta
grosas3@utep.edu
Characterization of Leston, a novel Mycobacteriophage of the subcluster K5 Apr 24, 2015
3:15 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Wisconsin-River Falls Karen Klyczek
karen.k.klyczek@uwrf.edu
From Australia to Wisconsin: Isolation and characterization of several members of a related group of Rhodococcus phage May 1, 2015
11:06 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Virginia Commonwealth University Allison Johnson
aajohnson@vcu.edu
OutPHAGEous Discoveries May 1, 2015
11:06 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Washington University in St. Louis Chris Shaffer
shaffer@wustl.edu
Isolation and Analysis of Cluster O Phages Mori and Vorrps and Cluster C Phage Clarice Apr 21, 2015
4:59 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Western Kentucky University Claire Rinehart
claire.rinehart@wku.edu
The Genome Discovery and Exploration Program at Western Kentucky University isolated, purified, and characterized mycobacteriophages Badger and TheloniousMonk. Apr 21, 2015
9:52 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Student-Presented Abstracts, DO NOT Consider For Talks
InstitutionFaculty ContactTitleLast ModifiedFiles
Xavier University of Louisiana Joe Ross
jross@xula.edu
From little Specks to a big genome: the continuing story of bacteriophages from the bayou (sort of). Apr 21, 2015
10:48 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Faculty-Presented Abstracts
InstitutionFaculty ContactTitleLast ModifiedFiles
Brigham Young University Julianne Grose
julianne_grose@byu.edu
Investigating the Relationships of Bacteriophages with a Class Reveals Obvious Boarders Between Bacterial Orders Apr 21, 2015
11:29 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Calvin College Randy DeJong
rdejong@calvin.edu
Phamerator Database Manager: A web-based application for building customized Phamerator databases Apr 22, 2015
12:37 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Del Mar College J. Robert Hatherill
jhatherill@delmar.edu
The SEA-PHAGES Program at Del Mar College: Indisputable Student Outcomes and Assessment Tool Development Apr 20, 2015
6 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Ouachita Baptist University Nathan Reyna
reynan@obu.edu
Cluster O promoter investigations at Gonzaga and Ouachita Baptist Universities Apr 21, 2015
4:54 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Purdue University Kari Clase
kclase@purdue.edu
Exploring the Impact of Bacterial Growth on Mycobacteriophage Protein Expression by Mass Spectrometry Apr 21, 2015
8:48 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
The Evergreen State College Jim Neitzel
neitzelj@evergreen.edu
Using the SEA-PHAGE Program in an Interdisciplinary Context Apr 21, 2015
11:37 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Maryland, Baltimore County Ivan Erill
erill@umbc.edu
Giving it a GO: enhancing bacteriophage genome annotation and student learning with the Gene Ontology Apr 21, 2015
5:46 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of North Texas Lee Hughes
lhughes@unt.edu
Exploring Bacteriophage Diversity in Streptomyces Apr 21, 2015
11:21 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
University of Pittsburgh David Hanauer
hanauer@pitt.edu
Active Assessment in the SEA-PHAGES Course: A Report from the Faculty Assessment Development and Validation Workshop Apr 24, 2015
12:06 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
Virginia Commonwealth University Allison Johnson
aajohnson@vcu.edu
Host range of Bacillus phages Apr 21, 2015
8:56 p.m.
Summary
Word Doc
TA-Presented Abstracts
InstitutionFaculty ContactTitleLast ModifiedFiles
University of Louisiana at Monroe Ann Findley
afindley@ulm.edu
Mycobacteriophage Discovery: Potential Applications for Phage Therapy of Mycobacterial Diseases Apr 21, 2015
8:45 a.m.
Summary
Word Doc